Welcome To Insanity.

Shit hit the fan.
Thursday, Feb. 17, 2011 4:39 PM

The shit hit the fan yesterday.
Maybe I should have made it more clear that my mother is no way shape or form rich. Neither is my father. He's "well off". Anyways.
After that last entry I posted boasting about how not poor my parents are, I failed to mention how extremely in debt my mother is. Maybe if I had, the karma that I don't believe in, wouldn't have bitten my ass so hard yesterday.
I went to the gym and came home to find my mother upstairs, which is unusual. She's writing down something on a notepad. I asked if something was wrong, she said yes and asks me to leave her alone because she needs to write down what is in her mind right now. So I go to take a shower. After I get out of the shower, she is still writing. I go to my room and call my older sister thinking she knows what is up with my mom. She had no idea, so I tell her to call mom with some excuse as to why she is calling and then say that she didn't sound right and if anything is wrong. My sister calls me back a few minutes later saying that she was writing a letter to my father.
I immediately begin to cry. Like, ball. I don't know what she is writing and neither does my older sister, but I'm immediatly thinking the worst, because that's what I do. So I think divorce. It didn't make sense because they are the happiest the've ever been in their marriage, but that's what I thought. So my sister tells me to calm down and to just continue getting ready for school so I do. Then I hear my mom call my sister back. Then my sister calls me back and says that what she was writing was because my mom has hidden all her debt from my dad and now she needs his help to pay it back, but she's afraid that he'll divorce her because it is a really, really large amount. Like, about half of what my dad makes in a year, and he makes a lot. So I start crying again, while putting my make up on, but I beign to think about it.
If anyone is to blame, it's both of them. Obviously my mother, but my father too. and my older sister. If she had grown up, and matured, she wouldn't still be dependent on my mother. Part of the reason she accumulated all this debt. My father comes into this because even though my older sister isn't his real daughter, he still adopted her when him and my mom got married, and even though that their relationship sucked, he still should have been a father to her like he is to me and my younger sister. he shouldn't of just given up on her and said fuck it. When she got into drugs, he should of acted like a father. It's a whole mess of everybody's fauly including mine and my younger sister's because we always asked for money when we were younger, but it still all comes down to my mom.
My father is very fiscally responsible and if she had came to him with this sooner, he would've been pissed, but he would've worked out a plan, and gotten it fixed.
And so now she's going to tell him, but she's afraid he'll divorce which also made me think. My dad is going to be beyond pissed when he sees the amount. He's going to see red, and act like he hasn't acted in awhile, which will be completely acceptable in this case which is act rude and condescending to my mother, but I honestly do not think that he will throw away 20 years of marriage over money.
He could not throw away 20 years of them going through a whole bunch of bull shit together. If they can survive the shit that my older sister put them through, the fights that they've been through, and everything else in the last 20 years, I know that they can make it through this.
I might have to point this out to him to make it blatenly obvious because he can be pretty closed-minded, but I will if I have to save my parents' marriage.
So now I'm sitting here, waiting for the impending blow out, hoping that I won't be at work or at school so I can take my younger sister over to my older sister's and I'd just stay over at my neighbor's.
I don't know what's going to go down. I hope that my parents are as smart as I think they are.
This will probably push my dad's retirement off for a few years, but if you honestly think about it, it was a minor mistake that just grew and grew and grew.
I wish I could just write a check to my mom for the amount and be done with it. She won't even let me give her money out of my paycheck because I'm her child.
Gawd.
I do not want my parents to become one of those statistics where they break up over finances.

new old sign email profile rings diaryland

template by wicked design