Welcome To Insanity.

Christmas in July.
Friday, Jul. 20, 2012 5:42 PM

For some reason I've been in a rather pensive mood lately.
In the last few minutes I was recalling a time when my friend Brittany had invited me over to her house for Christmas Eve. Ever since my sister and I discovered quite traumatically about Santa and his lack of existence, Christmas has been a rather bland affair around my house. I do enjoy the holiday, but it just has never been quite the same.
I digress. As I was saying, my friend had invited me over and I loved her family. I wanted to be a part of this large and loud family and most of the time I felt like I WAS a part of it. This particular Christmas had seen every member of this family at my friend's house and the Secret Santa was in full swing. It was such a happy time. I look back with mirthful tears because everything has changed. Her parents divorced and split the kids and now that friend herself is all whacked out on drugs.
This only serves as a reminder that I'm really alone now. There are no longer family get-together's because everyone lives all over this continent. Even my family tends to go away for the week to avoid the extended family. What I wouldn't give to have one last, huge Christmas with every family member around.
Why am I even preoccupied with Christmas when it's July?

new old sign email profile rings diaryland

template by wicked design